Archive for Thursday, July 24, 2003

Planning Commission to change

July 24, 2003

Within the next few months, the Basehor Planning Commission is set to undergo several changes to its current structure.

Last week, the Basehor City Council discussed reshuffling the current composition of the Planning Commission. The Council is expected to implement changes within coming weeks, city officials said.

The current Planning Commission consists of five city residents and two Leavenworth County residents living within three miles of Basehor.

The proposed changes include creating a Board of Zoning Appeals separate from the Planning Commission and creating a "building board," City codes administrator Mike Hooper said.

The Board of Zoning Appeals, which consists of the five city residents, is due for an overhaul, city officials said. The Board of Zoning Appeals meets to consider requests for variances of developments or projects as well as property owners' appeals for rezoning.

Hooper said city officials are considering changing the structure of the Board of Zoning Appeals, which would include five people independent of the Planning Commission.

The reshuffling has the support of the City Council, Hooper said. A change in structure would require changing city bylaws.

The Planning Commission is expected to weigh in on the subject during its next meeting Aug. 5.

City officials are also exploring the creation of an additional "building board," which would help interpret city codes, Hooper said. Five to seven people with construction experience will serve on the building board, he added.

Anyone interested in either a Board of Zoning Appeals or building board position should contact Hooper at (913) 724-1370.

The Planning Commission will receive further overhaul with the addition of a new member. On Monday, July 21, Basehor mayor Joseph Scherer appointed Burl Gratny, a former member of the Planning Commission and City Council, to the Planning Commission.

Gratny will assume the position of Ferna Moser, whose term expired. She was not reappointed by the mayor.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.