Archive for Thursday, May 15, 2003

Basehor officers honored

May 15, 2003

During the city of Basehor's centennial celebration in 1989, the Basehor Police Department had just a handful of officers.

Security for the celebration was contracted to the city of Tonganoxie, for additional police officers.

Today, the Basehor police department is a far cry from back then: the department now employees five full-time officers and eight part-time officers.

And, judging by a recent awards ceremony, those officers are producing.

Seven Basehor police officers won awards of recognition Monday, May 12 during the 17th Annual Peace Officers and Police Awards and Memorial Day Event.

American Legion and Veterans of Foreign Wars organizations in Leavenworth County sponsored the ceremony.

Sgt. Martin Cigich, the longest-tenured member of the police department, received an award as Basehor Police Officer of the Year. Basehor Police Chief Vince Weston selected Cigich for the award.

Cigich, who began his tenure in Basehor in 1986, remembers a time when the police department didn't have the same manpower it does today.

"There for awhile we were down to just the Chief and I," Cigich said. "There were several times when the chief would work the day shift and I would do the night shift."

But as time passed, the department, along with Cigich's responsibilities, grew. The sergeant is now second in command at the police department and fills in for Weston on occasion.

Cigich said the community, city leaders and Weston have all played key roles in his staying with the department.

"Basically, I like working with this community and out of loyalty to them and the chief," he said when asked the secret to his 17 years of longevity with the department.

Cigich also received a Certificate of Achievement in Criminal Investigation and a Merit Award for Excellent Arrest.

Other officers receiving awards Monday night were:

  • Chief Vince Weston, Commendation Award and Long and Honorable Service Award.
  • Andrew Slaughter, two awards for Merit Award for Excellent Arrest, Safety Award and Achievement in Criminal Investigation.
  • Donald "Slim" Wilson, Long and Honorable Service.
  • Loyd Martley, Safety Award
  • Jason Slaughter, two awards for Certificate of Achievement in Criminal Investigation
  • Franklin Robison, Citation for Bravery.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.