Archive for Thursday, August 5, 2004

Galliant effort for Gallion

Despite good showing, local man edged out of primary

August 5, 2004

A local candidate for the 3rd District Leavenworth County Commission seat put up a valiant effort during the primary election Tuesday night but ultimately fell short of winning the GOP nomination.

Jon Gallion, who lives just north of Basehor at 155th Street and Donohoo Road, received the second-highest vote total among the six Republicans seeking the county commission seat. Gallion's 457 votes placed him behind only Dean Oroke's 605 votes.

Oroke, a Tonganoxie developer and former county commissioner, will move onto the general election Nov. 2, where he'll face Democratic challenger Jerry Wilburn. Incumbent Joe Daniels is not seeking re-election.

Complete, but unofficial, Tuesday vote totals are listed below:

  • Dean Oroke, 605
  • Jon Gallion, 457
  • Ken Rahjes, 426
  • Richard "Dick" Brauer, 303
  • Marvin Torneden, 202
  • Fauna Dean, 148

The Leavenworth County Clerk's Office will begin validating the election Friday.

Gallion said he was disappointed with the loss of his campaign

"Based on the conversations I had with voters, I had pretty high expectations," he said.

Gallion said he was also surprised voters nodded Oroke's way, especially considering reports that surfaced days before the primary that the Tonganoxie man was delinquent on approximately $10,000 in property taxes.

However, despite the loss, Gallion said he is grateful for the support he received from voters. Also, the eight-year resident of the area did not rule out again seeking public office in the future.

Oroke is a former Leavenworth County Commissioner, who served from 1985 to 1989. He ran unsuccessfully for the board in 1992 and 1996.

In other election news:

  • Clyde Graeber, a Leavenworth resident, defeated three other Republicans candidates to secure the GOP nomination for the 2nd district Leavenworth County Commission seat.

Graeber will face Democratic challenger Mike "Whiz" Scanlon in the November general election.

Graeber's 1,050 votes outpaced candidates Larry Dedeke (597 votes), Harold Hunter (319 votes) and Arthur Davidson (130 votes).

Commenting has been disabled for this item.