Archive for Thursday, July 29, 2004

Voters to hit the polls Tuesday

July 29, 2004

Registered Leavenworth County voters will head to the polls Tuesday to shrink the list of candidates seeking office this year.

All told, Basehor voters will be able to cast votes within their respective party in two national races, two state races and two contested county races. There are four uncontested county races and the township races are uncontested within the parties.

At the national level, Republicans will vote between incumbent Sam Brownback, Topkea, and challenger Arch Naramore, Lawrence, for U.S. Senate while Democrats will select between Lee Jones, Lenexa, and Robert A. Conroy, Shawnee. The winner of each party primary will square off in the November general election for the one available U.S. Senate seat.

Incumbent Republican Congressman Jim Ryun, Lawrence, faces no opposition within his party, so he will advance to the November election to face Democrat Nancy Boyda, who is also unopposed.

In the Third District State Senate race, Democrats will choose between Jan Justice, Linwood, and Ed Sass, Easton, to face the winner of the four-person Republican race in November. Chuck Quinn, Perry, Richard Rodewald, Eudora, Connie O'Brien, Tonganoxie, and Roger C. Pine, Lawrence, all appear on the Republican ballot. State Senator Bob Lyon, a Republican, is not seeking reelection.

Incumbent State Representative Ray Cox, Bonner Springs, will square off against Willie Dove, Bonner Springs, in the primary. No Democrats filed for the seat.

At the county level, Republicans will choose between the six candidates, Dick Brauer, Linwood, Fauna Dean, Tonganoxie, Jon Gallion, Basehor, Dean Oroke, Tonganoxie, Ken Rahjes, Tonganoxie, and Marvin Torneden, Linwood, in the Third District County Commissioner race. Democrat Jerry Willburn, Tonganoxie, will not face any opposition on the Democratic ticket. Four other incumbent county officers, Clerk Linda Scheer, Treasurer Janice A. Yound, Register of Deeds, Stacy R. Drisoll, and Attorney Frank E. Kohl, will not face opposition. Democrats Geno Tomrell and Dave Zoellner, both of Leavenworth, are the only two candidates seeking the post that Sheriff Herbert Nye will be vacating.

Basehor voters will cast their ballots at either the Holy Angels Catholic Church, the fire station or Glenwood Ridge Elementary School, depending upon where they live. Voters will be able to vote for one candidate in each of the races by either darkening the circle to the left of a candidate's name or writing any name that does not appear on the ballot in the blank space provided.

Voters will need to bring their voter registration card to the polling location.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.