Archive for Thursday, April 14, 2005

Election results finalized

April 14, 2005

None of the results from several area Basehor, Linwood and school district races changed following a completed vote canvass Friday, April 8, but several of the candidates' tallies did.

In the race for Basehor mayor, the margin of victory for Chris Garcia over Joseph Nick, Sr. was announced Tuesday night at 161 votes or 457 to 296. On Friday, Nick closed the gap slightly, 458 to 302. In the race for Linwood mayor, the results remained the same; Linwood tavern owner Steve Campbell received 34 votes against City Council member Georgianna Smith's 32 votes (see related story, Basehor page 1A).

Garcia was sworn into office Monday, April 11.

In the bid for two Basehor City Council seats, all candidates received a handful more votes than figures announced Tuesday, though the finishing order remains the same. After the canvass Friday final results are: Terry Thomas, 372 votes, Keith Sifford, 326 votes, Bob Moore, 265 votes, and David Povilonis, 251 votes.

Like the new mayor, Sifford and Thomas were also sworn-in Monday night.

Only two of the three campaigns for Basehor-Linwood School Board were contested and of those, the bid for Position 6 between Linwood candidates Gary Johnson and Paul Smith was the closest.

Final results for Position 6 are: Gary Johnson, 985 votes and Smith, 792 votes.

The vote total for Position 5 incumbent Patrick Jeannin increased by 10 votes Friday, to 1,499 votes.

The total for his opponent, write-in candidate Don Kleoppel, a former school board member, held steady at 147 votes.

Only one candidate, former school board vice-president Randy Cunningham, filed for Position 4. Because he was unopposed, his vote total was not announced Tuesday night.

After the canvass on Friday, the county clerk's office posted Cunningham's total at 1,710 votes.

All new school board members will take office in June.

According to the county clerk's office, none of the local candidates met the noon Monday deadline to file for a recount.

The deadline for contesting the election in district court is 5 p.m. Friday, April 15.

The county clerk's office was not aware of any candidates intending to contest Tuesday's general election results through district court.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.