Archive for Thursday, January 20, 2005

Commissioner OK pay raises for elected officials

January 20, 2005

— One of the first acts of the new Leavenworth County Commission was to approve salary increases for themselves as well as other elected county officials.

On Friday, the County Commission, with new members Clyde Graeber, 2nd District representative, and Dean Oroke, 3rd District, having just been sworn in days earlier, approved wage increases for the three-member board as well as pay raises for the county clerk, treasurer, register of deeds, county attorney and sheriff.

The commission unanimously approved, 3-0, the pay raises for all elected officials but themselves. When voting for their own salaries, the commission approved an increase, 2-1, with Graeber voting against.

Oroke said the review of elected officials salaries is an annual occurrence for county government at the beginning of each year. The approved pay raises bring Leavenworth County's salaries into closer average with other Kansas counties, the new commissioner said.

In 2004, the county clerk and treasurer were paid $47,800. Oroke said those salaries lagged far behind statewide averages. The commission approved increasing the salaries for those positions, currently occupied by Linda Scheer and Janice Young, respectively, to $59,888.

The register of deeds, an office held by Stacy Driscoll, was also paid $47,800 last year. The new salary will be $54,888, a figure that, like the clerk and treasurer's office, brings the wage plan into closer relation to statewide averages.

Salaries for the county attorney and sheriff were increased by $2,170 per position. Oroke said wages for both positions were increased last year to bring them closer to state averages. In 2005, the county attorney's position, held by recently re-elected Frank Kohl, will pay $77,750, and the sheriff's position, held by newly elected Dave Zoellner, will pay $71,270.

In 2004, each member of the county commission received a $41,400 salary. The new county commission used the same pay increase, $2,170, for themselves as they did for the county attorney and sheriff. Each commissioners' 2005 salary will now be $43,570.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.