Archive for Thursday, November 10, 2005

Fireballs edge Raiders for flag football championship

Warriors top Chiefs for third place

November 10, 2005

Given how evenly matched the Lansing Fireballs and Lansing Raiders were, it wasn't surprising that their Parks and Recreation flag football league title game needed overtime before a champion was crowned.

Collin Ingram's nine-yard touchdown run on fourth down in overtime gave the Fireballs the lead. Then Ingram captured Raekwon Anderson's flag on fourth down to seal the Fireballs' victory, 27-20.

The Fireballs took the lead early in the first quarter when Ingram rolled out and sprinted 32 yards to the end zone. Then he ran the ball for an extra point and gave his team a 7-0 lead. The Raiders answered late in the quarter when Anderson broke free for a 33-yard touchdown run. The extra point attempt was unsuccessful and the Fireballs remained on top, 7-6.

The second quarter was a tough defensive battle, but Kale Pettis found room to run for a two-yard touchdown 15 seconds before halftime. He also ran the ball for the extra point and gave the Fireballs a 14-6 lead at the half.

Faced with an eight-point deficit, the Raiders weren't about to quit. Justin Varney returned a third-quarter kickoff 45 yards for a touchdown. Anderson's run for the extra point pulled the Raiders within 14-13. The Fireballs had an answer, though, as Pettis took a handoff to the right and hustled down the sideline for a 35-yard touchdown that gave his team a 20-13 lead.

Anderson's two-yard score late in the fourth quarter and ensuing run for the extra point tied the game and sent it to overtime. That's when Ingram put the Fireballs ahead for good.

Members of the first-place Fireballs were Nito Acevedo, Xavier Babcock, Breydon Baragary, Josh Burnett, Hunter Couch, Collin Ingram, Isaac Jacobs, Joshua Jacobson, Luke Lozenski, Zachary McKnight, Devan Myers, Kale Pettis and Ethan Ward.

Members of the second-place Raiders were Raekwon Anderson, Tommy Barnhouse, Wyatt Blackwell, Isaiah Byrd, Solomon Dill, Luke Goff, Austin Hickman, Dakota Sall, Evan Smith, Hunter Smith, Dalton Spears, Justin Varney and Tanner Williams.


The third-place game between the Lansing Warriors and Lansing Chiefs didn't need overtime to determine a winner, but it was an equally thrilling contest.

The Chiefs surged to a 6-0 lead midway through the first quarter when Dawson Schroeder broke free for a 35-yard touchdown run. The extra point attempt was unsuccessful.

The Warriors responded with a big second quarter effort that allowed them to take control of the game. Brockton Budke slipped through the defense for a 22-yard touchdown. Ryan Jaqua ran for the extra point and gave the Warriors a 7-6 lead.

The Chiefs appeared to take the lead midway through the quarter when Robert Levin connected with Joshua Robinson for a 35-yard touchdown pass, but it was called back because of a penalty. The Warriors eventually got the ball back and scored just before halftime on Jaqua's 33-yard run. Budke ran for the extra point and sent the Warriors into halftime with a 14-6 lead.

The Chiefs weren't finished, however. They pulled within two when Kyle Bogner scored on a 19-yard run late in the third quarter. A 17-yard run by Jaqua pushed the Warriors' lead to 20-12, but the Chiefs made one final charge. Bogner returned the ensuing kickoff 35 yards and set up a seven-yard touchdown run by Robinson that made the score 20-18.

Members of the third-place Warriors were Bryceson Baker, Kevin Bolin, Brockton Budke, Colin Dike, Ryan Jaqua, Dylan Jenkins, Nathan Martin, Mitchell Moorehead, Brian Orkwis, Matthew Parks, Matthew Pierce, Zachary Sweet and Tyriq Williams.

Members of the fourth-place Chiefs were Kyle Bogner, Clay Brown, Christopher Carpenter, Jonah DaSilva, Reece Fritz, Xzavier Holecek, Robert Levin, Joshua Robinson, Dawson Schroeder, William Wilk, Tyler Yea and Jonathan Zappa.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.