Archive for Thursday, October 13, 2005

Distance runners head to KVL meet

October 13, 2005

The Lansing High cross country team doesn't have the depth to compete for a league championship this year, coach Errol Logue said, but it does have a few individuals who could place high.

Logue pointed to junior Bianca Manago and seniors Erin Eustice and Ashley Mayes as potential medalists for the girls. On the boys' side, Logue said sophomore Griffin Davis has a good chance of medaling.

Last year, Manago led the Lansing girls to a second-place finish behind league champ Mill Valley. Manago placed third overall, while Mayes placed 12th and Eustice was 15th.

Mayes and Eustice both ran strong races last Thursday at the Pleasant Ridge Invitational - Eustice was seventh and Mayes was ninth - and Logue said he was anticipating a solid showing from both seniors again. Manago didn't run at P-Ridge, however, because she was nursing an injured hip.

"She got through an overdistance workout (on Monday), but she said she was awful stiff and sore," Logue said. "She'll have her hands full getting back to third (this year), but I'd like to think she's got a good shot at placing in the top five."

Logue said Mill Valley and Tonganoxie were the favorites to win the girls' team title this year.

On the boys' side, Logue said he is excited to see what Davis can accomplish in his second appearance at the league meet. He placed 27th as a freshman and covered the five-kilometer course in 21:00. This year he has been running in the upper 18-minute and lower 19-minute range, so Logue said he anticipated seeing Davis medal this year. The top 20 runners medal.

"I'd sure like to see him medal, and I would like to see him in the 18's on this course," Logue said. That would be a good improvement for him."

Logue said Bonner Springs was the clear favorite to win the boys' team title this year.

In the varsity girls' race, Manago, Eustice, Mayes, Briana Zak and Elizabeth Parks will race for LHS. Junior Lori Flippo will chase a league title in the junior varsity race because transfer rules prohibit her from competing in varsity races this fall.

The varsity boys' squad will include Davis, sophomore Jim Mayes, seniors Jason Gibson and Stewart Jones, and freshmen Matt McCurry, Wes Applegate and Trenton Dorf.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.