Archive for Thursday, July 6, 2006

Hard work, fun define LHS girls hoops camp

July 6, 2006

The Lansing High girls basketball summer camps took place June 5-8 at Earl Johnsmeyer Gymnasium, and LHS coach Keith Andrews said he was pleased with the effort his players put forth.

"I thought the kids all worked pretty hard," he said. "I was impressed with the freshmen and sophomores' competitiveness, which will pay off in the long run. Everybody worked pretty hard."

Twenty-four players attended the high school camp, and 22 players attended the youth camp. Andrews said most of his key varsity players were in attendance at camp. Returning starter Katie Nietzke was there, as were veteran varsity players Amanda Darrow, Brittney Lang, Morgan Chiles and Christine Cordes. The notable absence was senior-to-be and returning starter Elizabeth Cristiano. She missed camp to attend Girls State, a leadership program in Lawrence for high school seniors.

In addition to focusing on basketball fundamentals and scrimmaging, campers also participated in a variety of skills competitions.

At the high school camp, winners of the 2-on-2 shooting competition were Darrow and Nietzke. Lang, Abbey Lozenski and Lisa Angello won the one-on-one competition. Natalie Loreti was the free throw champion.

At the youth camp, Tawnee Hall and Megan Dike won the 2-on-2 challenge. Ashley Linaweaver was the dribble tag champion. Morgan Bromell was the one-on-one winner and Hall won the free throw title.

Freshmen attending the high school camp were Chelsea Weeks, Lauren Jaqua, Amy Briggs, Kristen Gould, Allison Dillon, Katelyn Griffen, Abbey Lozenski, Rachel Milnark, Lisa Angello and Kari Kelly. Sophomores in attendance were Lang, Keasla Hundley, Alexis Ellis, Natalie Loreti, Cassandra Murphy and McKenna Hall. Juniors at camp were Nietzke, Darrow, Chiles, Cordes, Katie Smith and Bethany Jiminez. Seniors were Kara Ritchey, Nakia Becker and Mary Lyon.

Those attending the youth camp for girls entering grades 3-8 were Megan Dike, Kara Fort, Madison Bosworth, Renee Johnson, Marybeth Schmidling, Maggie Hornick, Makenzi Hurt, Brianna Lozenski, Shelby Ogden, Morgan Bromell, Tawnee Hall, Ashley Linaweaver, Kacy Lewis, Sydney Chiles, Cynthia Malave, Taylor Bondy, Jen Nye, Amanda Glynn, Sarra Garvey and Allison Ewing.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.