Archive for Wednesday, November 1, 2006

Voters heading to polls on Tuesday

November 1, 2006

Tuesday's election is a major one across Kansas -- with offices of governor and attorney general up for grabs.

Running for governor are incumbent Kathleen Sebelius, Democrat; Jim Barnett, Emporia Republican; Carl Kramer, Wichita Libertarian; and Richard Ranzau, Wichita Reform.

In the attorney general's race, incumbent Phill Kline, Republican, is being challenged by former Republican Paul Morrison, Lenexa.

Morrison switched to the Democratic Party to run against Kline.

And in the running for the 2nd District's U.S. House of Representative seat are incumbent Jim Ryun, Lawrence Republican; Nancy Boyda, Topeka Democrat; and Roger Tucker, Ottawa Reform.

Other state offices voters will cast ballots for include these races:

  • Secretary of state: David Haley, Kansas City Democrat; Rob Hodgkinson, Stilwell Libertarian; Joseph Martin, St. Marys Reform, and Ron Thornburgh, Topeka Republican.
  • State treasurer: Larry Wilson, Topeka Democrat; and Lynn Jenkins, Topeka Republican.
  • State commissioner of insurance: Bonnie Sharp, Kansas City Democrat, Patrick Wilbur, Lawrence Libertarian, and Sandy Praeger, Lawrence Republican.
  • State representative, 39th District: Owen Donoho, Shawnee Republican, and Corey Mohn, Shawnee Democrat, are seeking a seat held by Rep. Ray Cox, who is retiring.
  • State Board of Education, First District, Janet Waugh, Kansas City Democrat, is running unopposed.

Commissioners race

In Leavenworth County, voters in the first district will vote on a replacement for Commissioner Don Navinsky, who is retiring.

Two county residents -- Ed Sass, an Easton Democrat, and J.C. Tellefson, a Leavenworth Republican, are vying for the seat. The first district covers the northern tier of the county, from the Atchison County line south to Leavenworth.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.