Archive for Thursday, November 16, 2006

Praises abound within district

November 16, 2006

There were no shortages of acknowledgements and thank-yous being passed around at this month's meeting of the Lansing School Board.

Board members, who met Monday, Nov. 13, heard about the good deeds and good works of students, teachers, staffers and patrons.

¢ Assistant superintendent Donna Hughes thanked Lansing Educational Foundation Fund board members Chris Cristiano, Chris Aus, Norma Hoagland and Becky Courtney for organizing a successful inaugural Blue Jean Ball, which tentative figures suggest raised $25,000 for the fund.

¢ Hughes and Lansing High School principal Steve Dike thanked those who helped welcome English teacher ChenLu and vice principal Chen Huantong from Kaifeng No. 5 Middle School in China during the pair's seven-day stay in Lansing. Hughes and Dike thanked LHS teachers Tracy Andrews and Randy Brown and their families for providing a home for the guests, and they thanked LHS teachers Mary Alice Schroeger and Linda Leffler for coordinating the visit.

"I think that was a great experience for everyone involved. Too bad we didn't have any kids this time. Hopefully, next go-around, we can do something like that," Dike said.

¢ Superintendent Randal Bagby thanked Dale Bohannon, the district's director of maintenance and capital improvement, Jeff Andrews, district technology coordinator, and staff members for the work they contributed to prepare the New Beginnings special education cooperative building for its opening Nov. 6.

¢ Lansing Intermediate School principal Jan Jorgensen thanked the PTA for providing lunches during parent-teacher conferences and acknowledged her school's LEFF Educate the Pride grant recipients, Tina Silva, Marianne Walker and Felicia Yoakam.

¢ Lansing Elementary School principal Tim Newton thanked the PTA for providing lunches during parent-teacher conferences and acknowledged his school's Educate the Pride grant recipients, Vicky Kelly, Mary Noyes, Jessica Asbury, Christine Bachtel, Jennifer Leitsch, Andrea Rothmeyer, Shelley Brammer and Sara Mulford.

¢ Dike thanked the LHS Kays Club for providing lunch during parent-teacher conferences.

¢ Board Vice President Rob Nicholas acknowledged LHS senior Adam New (snare drum) and junior Edwin Fluevog (trombone), who were named to the Northeast Kansas District Honor Band for 5A and 6A schools. He also acknowledged senior Rachelle Moss and sophomore Molly Kane for being named to the Northeast Kansas District Choir.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.