Archive for Tuesday, April 3, 2007

Incumbents re-elected

April 3, 2007

Two Lansing City Council incumbents have beaten back challengers in balloting Tuesday.

Andi Pawlowski defeated challenger David Anaya, 156-83, to win re-election to the Ward 2 council seat; and Harland Russell defeated challenger Tom Smith, 147-80, to regain the Ward 4 seat.

Unopposed in Ward 1 was Dee Hininger, who received 60 votes. Janette Labbee Holdeman received 88 votes as the only candidate in Ward 3.

In the Lansing school board races, incumbents Shelly Gowdy and Dr. Richard Whitlow won re-election to four-year terms and will be joined by Rich Hauver and Rich O'Donnell. Gowdy led the pack with 450 votes and was followed by Hauver, 440; Whitlow, 384; and O'Donnell, 282. Those finishing out of the money were John Gable, 252; Joseph Walden, 226; and W. Brian Duncan, 216.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.