Archive for Wednesday, April 4, 2007

Two newcomers join incumbent in council wins

Challenger defeats longtime incumbent in Basehor-Linwood School Board Position 3

April 4, 2007

A small turnout of voters Tuesday has decided who will serve on the next Basehor City Council and Basehor-Linwood School Board.

Only 432 people out of 2,192 registered voters -- a 19 percent turnout rate -- showed up at the polls to elect three candidates to seats on the council.

Jim Washington, who received the most votes in the Feb. 28 primary election, was the general election winner with 261 votes. Terry Hill came in second with 237 votes, and incumbent Iris Dysart will retain her position on the council with 227 votes.

George Smith, Roger McDowell and Jason Gorup received 222, 203 and 70 votes, respectively, and were eliminated.

Leavenworth County Clerk Linda Scheer said the total number of registered voters in the seven precincts of the Basehor-Linwood district is 7,575. But she said the number of people who voted in the school board general election could not yet be determined because a precinct report had not been run as of Wednesday afternoon.

Eric Dove beat out long time incumbent Kerry Mueller for position No. 3. Dove received 373 votes compared to Mueller's 325 votes. Incumbent Doug Bittel kept the No. 7 position on the board with 330 votes, defeating Leigh Farris, who earned 320 votes.

Jeane Redmond and Dayna Miller ran unopposed for positions No. 1 and No. 2, respectively.

The results will not be official until county commissioners complete their canvass of votes at 9 a.m., Friday, April 6.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.