Archive for Thursday, April 19, 2007

Educating the pride

Foundation breakfast honors Lansing students, educators

April 19, 2007

Lansing Educational Foundation Fund honored more than 50 students for their excellence at the fund's third-annual breakfast on Friday. Twenty-one district educators - all recipients of foundation grants the past year - also were recognized.

More than 150 people attended the breakfast at Lansing Middle School and heard a speech from retired Lt. Gen. Robert Arter, a Lansing resident, who talked about the history of the U.S. Constitution and its continuing importance in the education of youths.

At the end of the morning's festivities, foundation officials handed out certificates to 43 Lansing public school students for scoring 97 percent or higher in either math or reading on the Kansas state assessment tests and 12 high school students for high scores on the American College Test (ACT) college entrance exam.

The honored students were:

Math Assessments

Third grade: John Bracket, Jack Bresser, Madison Ernzen, Analiese Heitkamp, Sloan June, Eric Mitchell, Anil Patel, Lance Schimke, Sydney Sterling, Rose Strukel, Devon Wacker, Nick Wagner, Austyn White; Fourth grade: Hannah Fowles; Fifth grade: Bryan Courtney, Dustin Mortsolf; Sixth grade: Kent Carley, Luke Forbach, Alyssa Glowacki, Jalen Maestas, Jared Ontiveros; Eighth grade: Stephen Bessasparis, Stephen Long, Anisha Patel, Kenneth Ritchey, Jennifer Smisek

Reading Assessments

Third grade: Kelsey Hoines, Jay Kidder, Aaron Wilson, Zack Zule; Fourth grade: Megan Colstrom; Fifth grade: Leah Albee, Justin Green, Jenna Hoyt; Sixth grade: Mika Cummins; Seventh grade: Walker Edwards; Eighth grade: Whitney Forrest, Briana Hall, Brandon Kreutzer, Lauren NuDelman, Nora Ortner; Eleventh grade: Stephanie Eckert, Michael Nielsen

ACT Scores

Kyle Buehler, Kate Courtney, Stephanie Eckert, Geoffrey Fowles (highest), Natalie Hall, Abby Hauver, Matthew Humphreys, Nate Markovetz, Abby New, Michael Nielsen, York Olzewski (perfect on math)

National Merit Scholarship Commended Student Natalie Hall.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.