Archive for Thursday, February 22, 2007

8th-graders win final home games against Perry

February 22, 2007

The Lansing Middle School eighth-grade boys basketball A team has been tough to beat anywhere this season.

They've been especially tough at home, and boy does Perry-Lecompton know it.

The Kaws came to LMS on Thursday with hopes of pulling off the upset, but they left with a 47-24 loss.

The score was tied at 6-all after two minutes, but Lansing closed the first quarter on a 15-4 run and never looked back. The Lions extended their advantage to 34-16 by halftime and cruised the rest of the way.

Alec Zeck led all scorers with 17 points, 12 of them in the first half. Michael Grote added 10 points for LMS and Calvin Schneider chipped in seven.

The victory was Lansing's sixth straight, and it improved to 11-1 for the season.

Team members are Kaleb McQuillan, Ryan O'Donnell, Calvin Schneider, Parker Gibson, Colby Gwartney, Alec Zeck, Matt Stratton, Chris Rathjen, Sean Tweet and Michael Grote. They are coached by Bryan Shelley.


The eighth-grade B team ended its season with a victory Thursday when it defeated Perry-Lecompton, 35-22, at LMS.

The Lions jumped out to a 5-0 lead on a put-back by Brady Barnes and a three-point play from Zach Bradley, but the Kaws closed the first quarter on a 5-0 run and tied the game.

Nick Fodness scored five points during a 7-0 run in the second quarter as LMS took a 12-5 lead into halftime.

Lansing opened the third quarter on a 7-2 run and appeared to have the game under control, but Perry used a 6-0 run to get within stroking distance. A three-pointer by Matt O'Briend at the buzzer padded the Lions' lead, however, and they eventually pulled away for the victory.

The B team ended its season with a 6-5 record. Team members are Matt O'Brien, DeAndre Wills, John Bagby, Zach Bradley, Dakota Fox, Ethan Johnson, Alex Sexton, Matt Newby, C.J. Standish, Julian Melo, Nick Fodness, Anthony Trent, Zak Haller, Jonathan Robbins, Ben Coats, Tyler Hoyt, Branden Trowbridge, Robert Fletcher, Blaine Vance, Tony Moretine, Curtis Fore and Brady Barnes. They are coached by Joe Douglas.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.