Archive for Wednesday, February 28, 2007

Turnout light in city, school races

Countywide, just 9 percent of eligible voters participated in Tuesday’s primaries

February 28, 2007

A small number of voters narrowed the lot of candidates for Basehor City Council and Basehor-Linwood School Board in Tuesday's primary elections.

Just 228 out of a possible 2,179 registered voters in Basehor turned out to cast a ballot and cut the field of seven city candidates down to six.

Army contractor Jim Washington received the most votes at 123. Incumbent Iris Dysart was second with 104 votes and Terry Hill came in third by only one vote with 103. George Smith had 96 votes and Roger McDowell and Jason Gorup earned 84 and 59 votes respectively.

Those six candidates will advance to the April 3 general election, in which the top three finishers will receive seats on the council.

Former emergency medical technician Darlene Carbaugh was eliminated from the race with 38 votes.

Turnout was low in Linwood as well with only 109 voters participating in the Position No. 3 Basehor-Linwood school board primary.

Newcomer Eric Dove received the most votes with 51, and incumbent Kerry Mueller came up second with 37. Longtime area resident Angie Erickson received 21 votes and will not be moving onto the general election.

Dove and Mueller will join Jeane Redmond, running unopposed for position No. 1, Dayna Miller, running unopposed for position No. 2 and Doug Bittel and Leigh Farris, both running for position No. 7 at-large, on the general election ballot.

Leavenworth County Clerk Linda Scheer said countywide only 9 percent of eligible voters participated in Tuesday's primary.

"We're very disappointed in the turnout," Scheer said Wednesday morning. "So many people go through so much work to have the election, and there's so many candidates. But we know the city-school primary historically don't have good turnout."

The outcome of Tuesday's election will become official at the canvass of votes, which will be conducted at 9 a.m. Friday by the Leavenworth County Commission.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.