Archive for Wednesday, January 24, 2007

4-H’ers recognized at Achievement Night

January 24, 2007

Youths from across the county recently were recognized during 4-H Achievement Night.

Awards were presented to clubs and individuals for achieving progressive standards of excellence, as well as for progress toward self-set goals. Excellence in record book completion, club officer leadership and community service involvement are just a few ways this is accomplished.

The 4-H Achievement Night awards included:

  • 4-H Club Seals: Purple Seal award presented to Bell, Boling, Friendship Valley, Glenwood, Happy Helpers, Happy Hollow, Livewires and Reno Bobwhites 4-H clubs.
  • -H Safety Club Award: Reno Bobwhites 4-H Club. Leavenworth County Farm Bureau sponsored the award.
  • 4-H Camp Counselors: Nicole Allen, Tiffany Chappell, Erin Drozinski, Diane Fanghor, Trevor Fousek, Gelia Gardner, Lindsey Gonser, Ryan Grammar, Shilyn Guthrie, Alex Kissinger, Audrey Knapp, Carrie Koch, Tyler Lohman, Jason Miles, Ashlee Miller, Ben Reynolds, Arthur Rollins, Jesse Sours, Sarah Smith and Kathleen Adams. Kansas Farm Bureau sponsored certificates. Leavenworth County 4-H Foundation sponsored counselor gifts. Miles, Fousek, Gonser and Knapp were named Distinguished Camp Counselors by the 4-H Camping Group.
  • Prudential Spirit of Community Award for Kansas Top Middle School Volunteer of the Year: Lauren Hoge of Linwood. Hoge was selected for this honor among applicants from schools and other youth-serving organizations from across the state.
  • 4-H Spirit Award Winners: Diamond Electric, Ron Ewert of Leavenworth; and the Steve and Crystal Miles family.
  • 4-H Club Officer Awards: top secretary was Beth Scharinger of Leavenworth; top treasurer was Blaine McDougal of Leavenworth; top reporter was Kayla Lansing of Leavenworth; and top historian was Jacob Allen of Easton.
  • 4-H Key Awards: Nicole Allen, Alex Kissinger, Shannon Smith, all of Tonganoxie; Kelly Yunghans, Leavenworth and Audrey Knapp, Bonner Springs. This award is reserved for approximately the top 1 percent of Kansas 4-H members. Farm Credit Associations of Kansas has sponsored this prestigious award for more than 40 years.
  • Leavenworth County 4-H Leadership Scholarships: Alex Kissinger, Ben Reynolds, Shannon Smith, all of Tonganoxie, and Kelly Yunghans of Leavenworth. The county scholarships are given on behalf of the County 4-H Events Council to members who achieve the top leadership achievement level.
  • AYF National Leadership Awards: Max Packard of Leavenworth and Sarah Smith of Tonganoxie. The award recognizes young people who are striving to be their personal best and making a positive difference in their school, youth groups, 4-H clubs and communities. Both are eligible to attend the American Youth Foundation Leadership Conference next summer.

-- Beth Hecht is K-State Research and Extension Agent for 4-H Youth Development in Leavenworth County.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.