Archive for Friday, January 26, 2007

Governor names bio facility task force

January 26, 2007

Leavenworth Mayor Laura Janas Gasbarre and Charlie Gregor, executive vice president of the Leavenworth-Lansing Area Chamber of Commerce will represent Leavenworth County on a governor's task force charged with leading the state's efforts to land the National Bio- and Agro-Defense Facility.

Gov. Kathleen Sebelius on Friday announced the 43 appointments to the panel, which also will include legislative appointees and one official from the Kansas Chamber of Commerce and Industry.

The panel's co-chairs will be Lt. Gov. Mark Parkinson and Dan Glickman, former U.S. secretary of agriculture. The task force is made up of representatives from industry, academia, public officials, agricultural organizations and economic development groups.

"We already have outstanding assets, ranging from private sector firms like Hill's and Bayer, to government institutions like the new food security facility at K-State. Kansas has a strong case to make for bringing the planned federal lab to our state," Sebelius said in a news release issued by her office..

Eighteen sites in 11 states - including a site in Leavenworth County at 155th Street and Coffin Road, immediately west of the U.S. Disciplinary Barracks at Fort Leavenworth, and one at Kansas State University in Manhattan- had made the first cut in the competition to land the facility. It would employ about 250 scientists in a 500,000-square-foot, $451 million facility that includes a Biosafety Level 4 laboratory, the highest level of biosafety.

The U.S. Homeland Security, Agriculture and Health and Human Services departments would jointly operate the lab. Its mission would include modernizing the nation's efforts to combat foreign animal diseases, such as foot-and-mouth disease in cattle, and animal diseases that can infect humans, such as bird flu, anthrax and mad cow disease. The lab also would work to develop drugs, vaccines and other countermeasures against such diseases.

"NBAF would not only bring $450 million and hundreds of jobs into Kansas, it would also be another strong signal that our state is a national and international leader in cutting-edge bioscience research. The public-private partnership we are launching today is a crucial step to winning the facility," Parkinson said.

"Not only will NBAF be responsible for the creation of hundreds of new construction jobs, as well as hundreds of new high-wage, high-skill research positions, but it will put Kansas at the forefront of bioscience discovery," said Glickman, who now is president and CEO of the Motion Picture Association of America.

The task force will coordinate community outreach and advocacy and serve as a focal point for public input on their proposals. It also will assist in the preparation of an environmental impact statement on the proposed sites, the Governor's Office said.

Here are the members of the task force:

¢ Honorary chairman: U.S. Sen. Pat Roberts

¢ Co-chairmen: Dan Glickman, president and CEO, Motion Picture Association of America; and Lt. Gov. Mark Parkinson

¢ Vice chairmen: John Carlin, former governor, visiting professor and executive-in-residence, Kansas State University; David Franz, D.V.M., Ph.D., vice president and chief biological scientist, Midwest Research Institute; and Joerg Ohle, president and general manager, animal health division, Bayer HealthCare, LLC


¢ Ronald S. Brakke, president and CEO, Brakke Consulting

¢ Paul Casady, area director Americas, Intervet International

¢ E. Thomas Corcoran, president, Fort Dodge Animal Health

¢ Greg Graves, president and CEO, Burns & McDonnnell

¢ George Heidgerken, president and COO, Boehringer Ingelheim Vetmedica, Inc.

¢ Landon Rowland, chairman, president and CEO, Everglades Financial

¢ Don Marvin, president and CEO, IdentiGEN North America Inc.

¢ Dan Richardson, director of research, Hill's Pet Nutrition Inc.

¢ Justin Skala, president, Hills Pet Nutrition Inc.

¢ Warren Staley, chairman & CEO, Cargill Inc.

Research Institutions

¢ Robert Hemenway, chancellor, University of Kansas

¢ Bill Neaves, president and CEO, Stowers Institute for Medical Research

¢ Robert W. Rubin, Ph.D., president and CEO, Lovelace Respiratory Research Institute

¢ Jim Spigarelli, president and CEO, Midwest Research Institute

¢ Jon Wefald, president, Kansas State University

Public Officials

¢ Roderick Bremby, secretary, Kansas Department of Health and Environment

¢ Major General Tod Bunting, director of Emergency Management and Homeland Security, State of Kansas

¢ Laura Janas Gasbarre, mayor, City of Leavenworth

¢ Major General Carter F. Ham, commanding general for training and readiness, Fort Riley

¢ Steve Kelly, acting secretary, Kansas Department of Commerce

¢ Adrian Polanski, secretary, Kansas Department of Agriculture

¢ Bruce Snead, mayor, City of Manhattan

¢ Four legislative designees (appointed by House speaker, Senate president and minority leaders)

Producer Groups

¢ Steve Baccus, president, Kansas Farm Bureau

¢ David Cross, president Kansas Livestock Association

¢ Bruce W. Little, DVM, executive vice president, American Veterinary Medical Assoc.

¢ Jan Lyons, past president, National Cattlemen's Beef Association

¢ Ken McCauley, president, National Corn Growers Association

¢ Gregory Shelor, president, National Grain Sorghum Producers

¢ John Thaemert, first vice president, National Association of Wheat Growers


¢ Lyle Butler, president and CEO, Manhattan Chamber of Commerce

¢ Charlie Gregor, executive vice president, Leavenworth-Lansing Area Chamber of Commerce

¢ Angela Kreps, president, Kansas Bioscience Organization

¢ Tom Romig, incoming dean, Washburn School of Law

¢ Representative of the Kansas Chamber of Commerce

Kansas Congressional Delegation (ex-officio)

¢ Sen. Sam Brownback

¢ Rep. Nancy Boyda

¢ Rep. Jerry Moran

¢ Rep. Dennis Moore

¢ Rep. Todd Tiahrt


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.