Archive for Thursday, November 29, 2007

Sophomore Jaqua earns All-Metro honor

November 29, 2007

Lauren Jaqua has long been considered one of the most dominant runners in Lansing High cross country history.

Now the LHS sophomore is considered one of the best in all of Kansas City.

Jaqua was named to the Greater Kansas City Cross Country Coaches Association's All-Metro squad as an honorable mention selection. She is the first LHS girl to receive that honor.

The first team was loaded with a slew of Class 6A state meet standouts including: state champion Laura Roxberg of Blue Valley Northwest; runner-up Rebeka Stowe of Olathe Northwest; third-place finisher Lisa Imgrund of Shawnee Mission Northwest; sixth-place finisher Darci Miller of Olathe East; seventh-place finisher Kristin Gillespie of Shawnee Mission South; 10th-place finisher Anna Roxberg of BVNW; 12th-place finisher Casey Epps of OE; 15th-place finisher Katie Mona of ONW; 20th-place finisher Christine Nelson of SMNW; Erin Beck of Blue Valley North, and Class 5A state runner-up Ashley Washburn of St. Thomas Aquinas and 5A fourth-place finisher Clarissa Johnson of Gardner-Edgerton.

Jaqua, who placed 16th at the 5A state meet, was one of 15 honorable mention selections. Others were Erica Berry of Shawnee Mission West, Hayley Cline of SMS, Madison Crocker of SMW, Lacey Erikson of De Soto, Emily Evans of Blue Valley West, Hanna Hayes of BVNW, Mollee Hercules of Bishop Miege, Allie Marquis of Shawnee Mission East, Ellie Mohr of BVNW, Etagegn O'Neill of Miege, Kelli Russell of Olathe South, Carly Stanley of De Soto, Lana Thompson of OEHS and Davin Wieggers of Blue Valley.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.