Archive for Thursday, August 7, 2008

Primary slims down comission candidates

August 7, 2008

A crowded race now is down to just two, and another will pit former employer against former employee.

Seven Republican candidates for Leavenworth County Commission District 3 were vying Tuesday to be the party's representative in the general election. But only one - John Flower - will advance to the November election showdown with Basehor Democrat Pete Henderson.

Flower, a Bonner Springs Republican, earned 454 votes in Tuesday's primary.

Voting totals for the remainder of the field were: Bev Oroke, Tonganoxie, who finished second with 343; Dave Taylor, Tonganoxie, 230; Tony Klamm, rural Bonner Springs, 187; Bill Merkel, southern Leavenworth County, 168; Francis Hurla, rural Tonganoxie, 128; and Marvin Torneden, Linwood, 124.

Meanwhile, in the Leavenworth County attorney's race, Republican Todd Thompson will meet Democratic incumbent Frank Kohl.

Thompson, a Leavenworth attorney, convincingly defeated Lansing attorney Deb Snider, 2,644 to 1,700.

Thompson had been an assistant prosecutor to Kohl in the County Attorney's Office. However, in early June, days after Thompson informed Kohl he planned to run for county attorney, Kohl fired him. In an earlier interview, Thompson said Kohl told him the reason for dismissal was "a lack of judgment and forthrightness in the office."

Kohl has been the county's lead prosecutor for 24 years.

In the 42nd Kansas House District Republican primary, Connie O'Brien handily defeated Ted Ingerson, 1,239 to 697, with 18 of 18 precincts reporting. Both are from rural Tonganoxie. O'Brien will meet Lansing Democrat Timothy Moran in the general election for the seat, which is currently held by the retiring Kenny Wilk.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.