Archive for Wednesday, January 30, 2008

BLHS wrestling places 19th at Garden City

January 30, 2008

The Basehor-Linwood wrestling team placed 19th at a tournament in Garden City last weekend.

The team scored 36 points during the two-day tournament that featured 24 teams from different states.

Symon Seaton placed second in the 112-pound weight class. He lost to Victor Dotson of Canyon-Randal High School in the championship match. Dotson won the match 7-0.

He was the Bobcats only wrestler to finish in the top six spots at the tournament.

The Bobcats will play host to a dual at 5 tonight against Mill Valley and Ottawa High Schools.

The team is not scheduled to wrestle this weekend.

Garden City tournament results Team standings

1. Rio Rancho Rams 190.00

2. Ponderosa Mustangs 189.50

3. Liberal Redskins 177.00

4. Roosevelt Rough Riders 144.00

5. Andale Indians 142.00

6. Garden City Buffaloes 134.00

7. Scott City Beavers 123.00

8. Canyon-Randal Raiders 112.00

9. LaJunta Tigers 100.00

10. Emporia Spartans 94.00

11. Lamar Savages 89.00

12. Great Bend Panthers 73.00

12. (tie) Maize Eagles 73.00

14. Canon City Tigers 68.50

15. Sand Creek Scorpions 55.00

16. Dodge City Demons 53.00

17. Olathe South Falcons 44.00

18. Ulysses Tigers 37.00

19. Basehor-Linwood Bobcats 36.00

20. St. James Academy 31.00

21. Holcomb Longhorns 20.00

22. Hays Indians 19.00

23. Hugoton Eagles 16.00

24. Lawrence Free State Firebirds 7.00

Individual statistics


1st Darin Stroot Andale dec 3-0 Adrian Salas LIB

3rd Kurtis Romero LAJ dec 4-1 Josh Jaime LAM

5th Jake Williams RIO dec 12-7 Colby Witten MZE


1st Victor Dotson CR dec 7-0 Symon Seaton BL 3rd Ralph Salas LIB dec 8-4 Colt McElroy GC 5th Jabez Zinabu MZE dec OT Colton Eck AND


1st Ryne Cokeley SJA pinned Jesse Barber DC3rd Ross Leyba LAJ pinned Chaz Lawrence OS 5th Nick Schwager GB dec 8-1 Tyrel George SC


1st Louis Trujillo RIO dec 10-4 Zeke Hofer PON 3rd Trent Cox AND maj dec 9-1 Sal Tovar EMP 5th Dominique Lujan OS dec 6-2 Dillon Stucky SC


1st Chris Rubalcaba RIO dec 2-1Dan Frank RR 3rd Steven Kelly PON dec 8-5 Tim Dunham MZE 5th Jamie Quintanar GC dflt Tommy Ketchum LAJ


1st Philip Gallegos LAJ dec 4-3 Daniel Gonzalez GC 3rd Austin Gabel PON maj dec 12-4 Austin Gabel PON 5th Martin Overfield RIO pinned Sam McDaniel SC


1st Max Ortega RIO dec 6-3 Jake Snider PON

3rd Michael Arellano GC pinned Chris Wright DC 5th Morgan Numrich SC maj dec 15-5 Austin Blanchat AND


1st Daniel Kelly PON maj dec 9-1 Joey Dozier GC 3rd Benny Armstrong AND maj dec 12-4 Dakota Hayes SC 5th Josh Rodriguez ULY maj dec 11-2 Nick Urban RR


1st Brandon Montoya RR dec 7-4 Slade Giesen GB 3rd Jace Bennet CR dec 10-4 Tyler Sutherland LIB 5th Derek Newell ULY pinned Willie Eck AND


1st Sam Thoman AND dec 7-2 Chaston Hoeme SC 3rd Jeff Plumb RR dec 2-1 Phillip Merwin LAJ

5th Derek Good PON pinned Cory Takaki SND

17 1st Paul Cabbage RIO dec 5-0 Nathan Heuer RR 3rd Brandon Bourn MZE dec 7-4 Logan Numrich SC 5th Armando Gomez LIB dec 4-3 Connor Cambern CR


1st Nate Davis LIB dec 4-2 Joseph Flores CR 3rd Mark Kolmer EMP dec 4-3 5th Justin Hayden CC dflt Jace Banner GC


1st Joe Bach LIB maj dec 13-3 Jake Ottmann PON 3rd Howard Johnson GB dec 12-8 Rico Garcia CC 5th Brandon Vaughn LAM dec 6-3 Ryan Bass EMP


1st Taylor Stam PON beat Josh Rodriguez EMP 3rd Ray Hatchett SND beat Ricky Gomez LIB 5thA.C. Crespin RIO beat Edgar Roman GB


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.