Archive for Thursday, July 17, 2008

Remember when

July 17, 2008

10 Years Ago

(July 16, 1998)

The Rev. Kevin Stevicks was named pastor of the Basehor Baptist Church.

The Rev. Daryl DeShields was named pastor of the Bonner Springs Bible Baptist Church.

Gene McGraw and Al Stuchlik were taking entries for the VFW horseshoe tournament.

Dorothy Kincaid won a Chiefs football helmet, which was the top prize in the anniversary drawing at Waggoner Pharmacy.

25 Years Ago

(July 14, 1983)

Garland Smith was elected president of the USD 204 Board of Education. Ted Stolfus was elected vice president.

The Edwardsville City Council approved an agreement with the Wyandotte County Commissioners as the first step in a plan to build a park in the city.

The Fun Valley Municipal Swimming Pool reported attendance of 1,681 during its first 26 days of operation.

Mike Mosier won the greased watermelon in one of the games at the swimming pool during the Fourth of July celebration.

50 Years Ago

(July 17, 1958)

The Bonner Springs City Council approved a budget for 1959 in the amount of $205,801. A levy of 24 mills was proposed to finance the budget.

The Methodist Men's Club was planning to attend the "Bob Cerv Night" during a Kansas City A's game.

New voting machines were on display at the Commercial State Bank. Bert Scott was available to demonstrate the new machines.

Donna Jean Brauer, Bonner Springs, won the powder puff race at the Leavenworth Speedway.

Mrs. James Hatcher opened a bakery in her home in the 100 block of Allcutt.

100 Years Ago

(July 16, 1908)

The Bonner Springs Grays defeated Western Union, 21-1.

Residents in the Lenape area were calling for a new dike to be constructed to protect them from Kaw River flooding.

Sam McConnell filed for the Republican nomination for sheriff of Wyandotte County. F. R. Hutchings filed for the Republican nomination as circuit court judge.

Girls who took part in the drill exercise for Flag Day were honored at a picnic sponsored by the McDanield Post and Auxiliary of the Grand Army of the Republic.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.