Archive for Thursday, June 5, 2008

Remember when

June 5, 2008

10 Years Ago

(June 4, 1998)

Mark Smith and Meryl Miller were winners of the citizenship award at Clark Middle School.

Cory Shirk, Basehor-Linwood High School band teacher, accepted a two-year contract to teach in Brazil.

USD 204 (Bonner Springs-Edwardsville) teachers who retired at the end of the term were: Don Smith, Jon Beougher, John Price, Barbara Haufler, Alice Campbell, Colene Sanders and Beth Dawson.

Eric Davis, Bonner Springs, was valedictorian at Immaculata High School.

Kathy Walker, Bonner Springs, won the gift basket given in a drawing by the New Century Club.

Local government was the topic for the Bonner Springs-Edwardsville Chamber of Commerce meeting. Edwardsville Mayor Harold (Woody) Berry, Bonner Springs Mayor Ted Stolfus and John (Tiny) McTaggart, UG commissioner, were the speakers. Mike Holloway was program chairperson.

25 Years Ago

(June 2, 1983)

Officials from the Union Pacific Railroad took part in the dedication of the miniature railroad at the Agricultural Hall of Fame.

Mayor Reece Kuhn along with Archer Ruby, John Whitaker and Calvin Sowers, members of the former Bonner Springs American Legion Post, dedicated a memorial to Bonner Springs residents who died in military service.

Ron Brown was installed as president of the Bonner Springs Eagles Lodge.

Teanne Hackney received the president's award at Edwardsville Elementary.

USD 204 elementary school teachers, Sally Hultquist and Edna Kloepper, retired at the end of the school term.

Patty Hunt and Jesse White were new Tiblow Transit drivers.

50 Years Ago

(June 5, 1958)

The new K-32 Bowl in Edwardsville planned to open in July. Russell Trent was the owner of the bowling center and William Crum was the manager.

The Bonner Springs City Band announced its first concert of the season. Director Hugh Ferguson said the band had 30 members.

Robert Bingham was appointed as Bonner Springs city attorney. Bob Boyce was named to the post of police judge. The appointments were made by Mayor Clarence Mize.

Dr. Ernest Mitts was elected to the board of directors of the Kaw Valley Heart Association.

Dr. Carlos M. Cooper was appointed to the post of research director for Jensen-Salsbery Laboratories, Inc.

Marcia Hill, Miss Bonner Springs, was competing in the Miss Kansas pageant at Pratt.

100 Years Ago

(June 4, 1908)

Mrs. Ella Miller was elected as a state vice president of the Grand Army of the Republic Corp.

A large crowd attended the Children's Day service at the Edwardsville Methodist Church.

The Bonner Springs Grays defeated Armour Packing Co., 13-3. Because of threatening weather, attendance was smaller than usual. The light rain that fell during the game made the field very slick.

Prof. Van der Vrles was the featured speaker at the Bonner Springs High School graduation ceremonies. Ruth Michaels sang a solo during the program.

Potato bugs continued to threaten the crop in the Kaw Valley. Mr. Mann said he was using his new bug spraying equipment day and night. The problem was so bad that some farmers were renting spray equipment for $5 per day.

Samuel C. Miller filed as a Republican candidate for Wyandotte County Circuit Court judge.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.