Archive for Friday, May 2, 2008

United Way elects board members

May 2, 2008

United Way of Leavenworth County elected new members and officers to its board of directors at its 52nd annual meeting on Monday, April 28, at the Riverfront Community Center.

New members elected are: Jo Burkett, retired director of the Red Cross; Steve Rosenthal, owner, Reece and Nichols Realty; Edith Jones, Armed Forces Insurance; Sunshine Petrone, human resources director and city clerk, city of Lansing; Sister Diane Steele, president, University of St. Mary; and Linda Scheer, Leavenworth County clerk.

Four board members whose terms had expired were re-elected for another term. They are: the Rev. Betty Hanna-Witherspoon, pastor, Bethel AME Church; Jeff Porter, firefighter, city of Leavenworth; Jilinda White, First State Bank and Trust Co., Tonganoxie; and Megan Scheidt, assistant to the city manager and public information officer, city of Leavenworth.

New board members took office effective with the annual meeting and will serve a three-year term that will expire in 2011.

New officers for the 2008-2009 fiscal year were elected. Jeff Porter was elected board chair; Jilinda White, vice chair and budget and allocations chair. Leslie Rooker of Media One was elected campaign chair, and Karen J. Logan, city clerk of the city of Leavenworth, was re-elected treasurer.

In addition to the elections, retiring board members, volunteers and payroll deduction companies were recognized for their service.

The United Way of Leavenworth County is an independent not-for-profit community service organization serving Leavenworth County residents through 24 human service and character building member agencies, assessing and addressing local needs, and community mobilization since 1956.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.