Archive for Thursday, April 9, 2009

Remember When

April 9, 2009

10 Years Ago (April 8, 1999)

Ted Stolfus was re-elected mayor of Bonner Springs and Harold (Woody) Berry was again elected mayor of Edwardsville.

Basehor PRIDE announced plans for a clean-up project. Chuck Wilderson was chairperson of the group.

Andrew Dame, Kevin Parks, Matt Gibson and John Mackey were named as Bonner Springs delegates to Sunflower Boys State.

The Basehor-Linwood girls softball team swept a double-header from Bonner Springs, 15-3, 13-0. Kara Reed, Kara Lackner and Jackie Horn each had two hits in the first game.

The Bonner Springs-Edwardsville Board of Education was discussing a plan to combine with the YMCA to build a facility between the high school and middle school.

25 Years Ago (April 12, 1984)

Bonner Springs High School announced that Anita Daly was class valedictorian, and Kathy Thorn was salutatorian.

Jill Jenkins was elected president of the Bonner Springs High School Student Council, and Jean Mills was the new vice president.

Chapter FQ of the PEO Sisterhood honored Glenndine Waggoner as its member of the year.

Dan Trent was chairman of the Bonner Springs Optimist Club entries in the YMCA Service Club Olympics.

Sacred Heart Science Fair winners were: Erin Fix, Melissa McGraw, Sandy Frey and Stephanie Braet.

Carl Taylor Bonner Springs High School basketball coach was the speaker at the Edwardsville Kiwanis Club meeting.

50 Years Ago (April 9, 1959)

Art Hanson, president of the Bonner Springs Business Men’s Association wrote to U.S. Rep. Newell George requesting that a new post office be constructed in Bonner Springs.

Del Hininger was elected mayor of Bonner Springs, and Lindy Trent was elected mayor of Edwardsville. Bonner Springs voters approved fluoridation of the city water supply.

Lillian Lee Penny and Virginia Kay Roweth entered the Miss Bonner Springs pageant competition.

Mr. and Mrs. Alvin Hauetter purchased the Darrell Overfelt residence on Pratt Ave.

The Basehor High School Alumni Association announced a fund-raising dinner and dance. James Klinkenburg was president of the group.

The fund to purchase land for the proposed Agricultural Hall of Fame topped the $15,000 mark.

100 Years Ago (April 8, 1909)

Bonner Springs voters elected A. B. C. Dague to the office of mayor with a 312 to 237 vote margin over Thomas Kinahan. C. H. Weber. George Peters, M. S. Everett, John Stunz and W. H. Voiles were elected to the city council. J. H. Mize was the police judge.

Frank Waters was the new president of the Bonner Springs Commercial Club.

The Bonner Springs Portland Cement Co. held its annual board meeting. W. H. Caffrey was the president of the company.

Plans were announced for a city-wide clean-up. Residents were urged to get rid of trash around homes.

Bonner Springs reported 34 new water service hook-ups in the first quarter of the year.

New buggies had arrived and were on sale at the Bonner Springs Hardware Co.

Mr. and Mrs. George Brubaker provided entertainment for the Edwardsville Literary Society.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.