Confusion over licenses, permits made clear
During the year, many students turn 14 or 15 and obtain what appear to be valid driver’s licenses. Many parents assume that because their teenager now has a driver’s license they can drive any where at any time. This is not always the case. There are four types of driver’s licenses:
• Instruction permit
• Farm permit
• Restricted driver’s license
• Nonrestricted license
With the instruction permit license, the student is only allowed to drive when accompanied by a licensed adult 18 years of age or older.
Students and parents are often confused by the “to and from” school wording of restricted licenses. If you arrive early at school for practice and then attend classes and have practice after school and then drive home, you are fine. If you leave school, go home change clothes or whatever and then return to school for practice, a game or other school related activity, you are now in violation of the restriction.
The nonrestricted driver’s license would be issued to a student who is already 16 years of age and will be allowed to drive at any time.
It is important that parents and/or legal guardians understand the restrictions that apply to these different types of driver’s licenses, because if your student is convicted of two or more moving violations, they will remain restricted until the age of 17. If you have any questions, please feel free to contact me.
More like this story
- Hospitals push for Medicaid expansion in Kansas
- 2015 Candidate questionnaire: Jeanette Klamm, USD 458 Board of Education
- Bill would prohibit public agencies and schools in Kansas from collecting union dues
- Kansas considers changes to policies for state workers
- Brownback supports rural incentives program amid skepticism