Archive for Thursday, October 15, 2009

6 honored at NAACP banquet

October 15, 2009

The Bonner Springs NAACP’s 52nd annual Freedom Fund Banquet was Sept. 26.

Phyllis A. Bass, director of the Richard Allen Cultural Center in Leavenworth, was the guest speaker. Bass was responsible for the development of the Fort Leavenworth Buffalo Soldiers Monument.

Six people received awards at the banquet for their service to the community. Jerry Jarrett and Gayla Jackson received the Presidential Awards, John Makona and Pam Stewart received the Education Awards, New Light Baptist Church received the Prestige Award and Tiara Jones was the 2009 scholarship recipient.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.