Archive for Thursday, July 29, 2010

Primary next week

July 29, 2010

With state and national offices up for consideration, candidates and election officials are hoping voters participate in this year’s primary election.

Local voters must decide between two or more candidates in both parties for several offices. The top vote-getter in each race will advance to the general election on Nov. 2.

Polls will be open from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. Tuesday, Aug. 3.

Registered voters wishing to cast a ballot in advance have until noon Monday. Aug. 2, to vote at the Leavenworth County Clerk’s office, 300 Walnut St., Leavenworth. Advance balloting also is available from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. today and Friday, July 30, at the clerk’s office.

There are three statewide races that require primaries for Democrats. On the Republican side of the ledger, six statewide races will be decided Tuesday.

In the race for U.S. Senate, Democrats will choose from Robert A. Conroy of Shawnee, David Haley of Kansas City, Kan., Lisa Johnston of Overland Park, Charles Schollenberger of Prairie Village and Patrick Wiesner of Lawrence.

Meanwhile, Republicans will narrow the Senate field of Tom Little of Mound City, Robert Londerholm of Overland Park, Jerry Moran of Hays and Todd Tiahrt of Goddard.

Democrats don’t have to narrow candidates for governor and lieutenant governor, but Republicans must choose between Sam Brownback and running mate Jeff Colyer of Topeka, and Joan Heffington and Mark Holick of Derby.

For secretary of state, Democrats will choose between incumbent Chris Biggs of Junction City and Chris Steineger of Kansas City, Kan. Republicans have three options: J.R. Claeys of Salina, Elizabeth Ensley of Topeka, and Kris Kobach of Piper.

There isn’t a Democratic primary in the race for attorney general, but Republicans will decide between Ralph J. De Zago of Herington and Derek Schmidt of Independence.

There will be no narrowing of the field for state treasurer, but for commissioner of insurance, Republicans will choose between incumbent Sandy Praeger of Lawrence and David Powell of El Dorado. Election sites will be open from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. Aug. 3.

• Fairmount/Basehor Township – Fairmount Twp Fire Station, 2620 N 155th St.

• Glenwood/Fairmount – Glenwood Ridge Elementary, 17550 158th St.

• Linwood/Sherman – Linwood Community Building, 3rd and Main Streets.

• Stranger/Stranger – West Haven Baptist Church, 1000 West St.

• Walnut/Stranger – Stranger Township Fire Station, 19501 State Ave.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.