Archive for Wednesday, March 24, 2010

Basehor-Linwood basketball players headline All-Kaw Valley League squad

March 24, 2010

The Basehor-Linwood boys basketball team made an undefeated run to the Kaw Valley League championship this season, so it was no surprise that BLHS was the most highly recognized squad on the All-Kaw Valley League team.

Three Bobcats earned first-team honors and another garnered honorable mention status. Sophomore forwards Ryan Murphy and Colin Murphy were named to the first team, as was senior forward Richie O’Donnell. Senior point guard Mark Vaca earned honorable mention honors.

Bonner Springs junior guard Juan Pichardo was the lone Brave to make the All-KVL squad. He was named as an honorable mention selection after leading the Braves in scoring.

First team members were: the Murphy twins; O’Donnell; Dalton Abel, Santa Fe Trail; Sloan Blain, Lansing; Corey Dahl, Santa Fe Trail; Dane Erickson, Tonganoxie; Jason Lee, Santa Fe Trail; Russell Loomis, Piper; Austin Muckenthaler, Mill Valley; Chuck O’Neal, Turner; and Keaton Schaffer, Tonganoxie.

Honorable mention selections were: Vaca; Pichardo; Zach Nill, Bishop Ward; Taylor Reinoehl, Mill Valley; Jeremy Carlisle, Tonganoxie; C.J. Vallejo, Bishop Ward; Brian Beall, Lansing; Calvin Schneider, Lansing; and Shelby Politte, Perry.

The Basehor-Linwood girls had three players recognized as All-League honorees after finishing second in the KVL. Senior guard Cassy Bever and junior forward Megan Bergstrom — the team’s top two scorers — both were named to the first team. Junior point guard Courtney Poe was named as an honorable mention selection.

Bonner Springs sophomore point guard Yessenia Hernandez was the only BSHS player to make the list. She earned honorable mention status after having a strong second half of the season.

First team members were: Amy Briggs, Lansing; Kylie Burns, Bishop Ward; Bergstrom; Emily Altman, Mill Valley; Patrice Lasley, Piper; Katie Delich, Lansing; Jenny Whitledge, Tonganoxie; Bever; Katie Volle, Perry; Danyelle Cole, Piper; Korbynn Stallbaumer, Santa Fe Trail; and Nicole Garretson, Mill Valley.

Honorable mention selections were: Poe; Hernandez; Jessica Christman, Perry; Andie Jeannin, Tonganoxie; Lauren Hall, Tonganoxie; Taylor Williams, Bishop Ward; Allison Ewing, Lansing; Shara Luther, Santa Fe Trail; and McKenna Mortell, Turner.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.