Archive for Tuesday, April 5, 2011

Lansing voters tap 3 new council members, 3 new school board members

Election 2011

Election 2011

April 5, 2011

Lansing voters ousted two incumbent City Council members and one school board member in balloting Tuesday.

Delmar “Dee” Hininger, who has represented Ward 1 since 2004, and Janette Labbee-Holdeman, who has been a Ward 3 representative since 2006, were defeated in Tuesday’s balloting. They were defeated by Gene Kirby and former Council member Billy Blackwell, respectively.

Andi Pawlowski, Ward 2, was the lone incumbent returned by voters to the council. She beat back a challenge from Jeff Klemp.

In Ward 4, voters tapped Gregg Buehler to replace Harland Russell, who did not seek re-election.

Three new members were elected to the Lansing School Board: Debbie Deere, Claudia Logue and Jeff Martin. Incumbent Richard Whitlow won re-election to the board while incumbent Rich Hauver finished fourth and will not return to the board.

Election results will remain unofficial until ballots are canvassed at 9 a.m. Friday by the Leavenworth County Commission.

Here are Tuesday’s unofficial vote totals:

Lansing City Council Ward 1

• Louis 'Gene' Kirby, 90

• (Dee) Delmar W. Hininger Jr., 43

Lansing City Council Ward 2

• Andi Pawlowski, 222

• Jeff Klemp, 185

Lansing City Council Ward 3

• Billy M. Blackwell, 166

• Janette Labbee-Holdeman, 95

Lansing City Council Ward 4

• Gregg Buehler, 175

• Thomas Smith, 117

Lansing school board

(Top four elected)

• Debbie Deere, 636

• Claudia M. Logue, 599

• Jeff Martin, 581

• Richard Whitlow, 564

• Rich Hauver, 530

• David Fowles, 402

• Pete 'Fired-Up' Robinson, 387

• Betty A. Klinedinst, 358

• Carla Wiegers, 267

• Donna McDaniel, 199


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.