Archive for Thursday, March 24, 2011

Bonner Springs Wrestling Club qualifies 28 for district tourney

March 24, 2011

The Bonner Springs Wrestling Club turned in a strong showing Saturday, March 12, at the Sub-District 1 North Tournament at Holton as 28 wrestlers placed in the top four and qualified for the District Tournament.

The first six district qualifiers came in the 8-and-under division. Ethan Witzke posted a 3-0 record, including a pin and two major decisions, and placed first in the 55-pound weight class. Jackson McArthur went 3-0 with two pins and won the 61-pound weight class.

In addition, 46-pounder Dawson Lamberd went 2-1 and placed second in his weight class, Derek Duffett was third at 49 pounds, Cruz Lara was third at 52 pounds and Damon McGee took fourth at 64 pounds.

Four more Bonner Springs wrestlers qualified in the 10-and-under division. Andrew Puckett won all three of his matches by pin and placed first in the 90-pound weight class and Trai Warburton went 2-0 with a pair of pins on his way to a first-place finish at 130 pounds. Xavier Seaton took third at 61 pounds, and T.J. Williams placed third at 100 pounds.

Corbin Nirschl was the lone BSWC wrestler to qualify for districts in the 12-and-under division. The 64-pounder placed second thanks to a narrow overtime loss and a victory by technical fall.

Eight district qualifiers came in the 14-and-under division, including a recent high school Class 4A state qualifier. That high school standout, Bonner Springs High School freshman Josiah Seaton, wrestled for BSHS at 103 pounds but qualified for the district tournament at 85 pounds thanks to victories by pin and technical fall.

Second-place finishes came from 90-pounder D.J. Ballard, 105-pounder Elijah Hill, 110-pounder Dalton Inlow, 125-pounder Billy Fratzel and 235-pounder Dalton Murray. Bryan Lanning finished third at 135 pounds, and Caelen Burbank took fourth at 205 pounds.

The final nine district qualifiers came in the high school division, and among them were a few more recent Class 4A state tournament participants. BSWC had the first- and second-place finishers at 112 pounds. Michael Torrez — a 4A state qualifier from Basehor-Linwood High School — took first. He won the title match by forfeit against BSHS state qualifier Justus Seaton.

Basehor-Linwood’s Antonio Ferro — a 4A state qualifier last month — took third at 119 pounds and posted a 3-1 record.

Two other 4A state qualifiers from Bonner Springs High School — Aaron Puckett and Mark Hobson — both won their weight classes. Puckett took first at 152 pounds and Hobson won at 160 pounds. Both had 3-0 records.

Also for the BSWC, Caleb King took second at 285 pounds, Les Wessel placed third at 250 pounds, Coltin Bulkley was fourth at 130 pounds and Austin Cobb took fourth at 135 pounds.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.