Archive for Thursday, May 5, 2011

BLHS honors seniors with awards, scholarships

During an academic awards ceremony at Basehor-Linwood High School on April 28, seniors sit at tables with signs displaying their college choices.

During an academic awards ceremony at Basehor-Linwood High School on April 28, seniors sit at tables with signs displaying their college choices.

May 5, 2011

Basehor-Linwood High School honored the achievements of its graduating seniors in two ceremonies last week.

On Wednesday, April 27, the school honored the recipients of a total of $47,200 worth of local scholarships in an evening ceremony.

Then in an assembly during school Thursday, April 28, students were honored with academic awards, and 105 students — representing 78 percent of the senior class — who have committed to colleges and universities signed letters signifying their intents.

Below is a list of seniors honored with awards and scholarships:


Principal's Leadership Award: Trent Smith

Outstanding student in math and science, from dean of engineering at Kansas State University: Bryce Garver

Certificate for Exceptional Academic Performance from Kansas Board of Regents: Bryce Garver

Dale Dennis Excellence in Education Award: Jessica Farris

KSHSAA Citizenship Award: Owen Lewis and Emily Lynch

KSHSAA Award of Excellence: Macyn Sanders and Caleb Johnson

Acceptance into the Kansas State University Architecture program: Spencer Scherer and Brent Higgins

Governor's Scholar Award: Austin Stubbs and Emily Knapp

National Merit Commended Scholars: Leo Budy and Genevieve Brown

Kansas ACT Scholar (for a score of 32 or more on the ACT): Bryce Garver

Prudential Spirit of Community Awards: Destry Bryan and Molly Whipple

Kansas Designated State Scholars: Genevieve Brown, Jessica Farris, Bryce Garver, Courtney Inlow, Caleb Johnson, Emily Knapp, Emily Lynch, Emily McDowell, Shelby McGhee, Abbey Stallbaumer, Austin Stubbs, Molly Whipple


ABLE Scholarship ($1,000): Shelby McGhee, Emily Knapp

Alpha Delta Kappa Scholarship ($700): Caitlyn Clark, Jimmy Goss

Basehor Chamber of Commerce Scholarship ($1,000): Hannah Kenton

Basehor Lions Club Scholarship ($700): Hannah Kenton, Spencer Colvert

BLHS Booster Club Scholarship ($500): Bryce Garver, Jessica Farris, Abbey Stallbaumer, Hannah Kenton

Basehor-Linwood Middle School Booster Club Scholarship ($500): Brittany Laney

Basehor-Linwood Education Foundation Scholarships —

  • $1,000: Courtney Inlow, Emily Lynch, Jessica Farris, Emily McDowell, Macyn Sanders, Molly Whipple, Melissa Seaman, Hannah Kenton, Austin Stubbs, Bryce Garver, Steyr Stubenrauch
  • $500: Brittany Laney, Evan Theno, Spencer Scherer, Abbey Staullbaumer, Miles Brown, Reba Lillich, Brent Higgins, Megan Bergstrom
  • $500 for technical school: Austin Walker, JoAnna Verbenec

Basehor-Linwood soccer ($500): Cameron Harvey, Melissa Seaman

Bittell Family Scholarship for Math and Science ($500): Alex Powell

BLHS Student Council ($500): Jessica Farris

Care Cats/YouthFriends Corps & National Points of Light ($500): Emily Lynch, Destry Bryan

Community National Bank Scholarship ($300): Spencer Colvert, Kaitlin Allen, Wyatt Kelly

Easton Bus Company Scholarship ($500): Misha Martinez

First State Bank & Trust ($750): Shelby Equels, Caleb Johnson

Joshua Gaffney Memorial Scholarship ($500): Caleb Johnson, Brittany Laney

Gold PRIDE Scholarship ($500): JoAnna Verbenec

PRIDE Scholarship ($500): Zak White

Kiwanis Club of Basehor ($500): Abbey Stallbaumer, Brittany Laney

Linwood Lions Club Scholarship ($1,600 over four semesters): Abbey Stallbaumer

Lou Haney Memorial Scholarship ($1,000): Caleb Johnson

Pleak Family Scholarship ($500): Trent Smith

Thomas E. Lorance General Business Scholarship ($300): Destry Bryan

Union Bank & Trust Scholarship ($500): Molly Whipple

Ward L. Kiester II Memorial Scholarship ($600): Owen Lewis

New Century Club ($500): Sam Tady


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.