Archive for Wednesday, December 5, 2012

Area residents receive KSU scholarships

December 5, 2012

Kansas State University recently announced the recipients of more than 9,400 academic scholarships that have been awarded to the university’s students for the 2012-2013 school year, including students from Basehor, Bonner Springs, Edwardsville and Linwood.

Overall, students have earned more than $19.2 million in scholarships for the current academic year, nearly $1 million more than the previous year.

Most of the scholarships are made possible through donations and gifts to the Kansas State University Foundation. Information on the university’s student financial assistance is available at

Students from Basehor were: Brittne Brannan, Leadership Scholarship; Anna Mark, Dean’s Choice Scholarship, and Donald Lee Cordes Scholarship; Jade Mauzey, Memorial Scholarship; Bradley Peterson, Heritage Award; Caroline Patelli, Memorial Scholarship, and K-State Civic Leadership Scholarship Presented by Farm Bureau Financial Services and Kansas Farm Bureau;

Kimberly Peterson, K-State Alumni Association Legacy Scholarship, and Arts and Sciences Fund for Excellence; Louis Rebeck, Transfer Achievement Award; Alec Smith, Timothy R. Donoghue Graduate Scholarship, Cessna Scholarship, and Activity Scholarship; Jenny Swabb, Engineering Scholarships Fund, and Loyal and Jill Huddleston Civil Engineering Scholarship.

Students from Bonner Springs were: Alexandria Bright, K-State Marching Band Scholarship, K-State Music Advisory Council Scholarship, and Memorial Scholarship; Xavier Capalla, Activity Scholarship; Emily Hunt, Putnam Scholarship; Ben Kamm, Memorial Scholarship; Danae Leppke, Purple and White Scholarship; Morgan Lietzen, John T. Fairman Success in Marketing Scholarship, and Dean’s Choice Scholarship;

James Mitchell, Leadership Scholarship; Luis Sanchez, Herbert H. and Neva J. Blevins Scholarship, and Memorial Scholarship; Eliza Scott, Memorial Scholarship; Toni Stock, Captain Robert James Elgaard Memorial Scholarship Fund, and Memorial Scholarship; Sergio Valenzuela, Heritage Award, and Engineering Scholarships Fund; Kayla Zimmerly, Activity Scholarship, and Mildred Van De Riet Memorial Scholarship

The student from Edwardsville was Trey May, Medallion Scholarship.

Students from Linwood were: Lacie Falk, Art Hiser Chemical Engineering Scholarship, Ernest N. Carter Women in Engineering Science Program Scholarship, and Frank L. Westerman Jr. Scholarship; Benjamin Field, Activity Scholarship; Haley Field, College of Education Alumni Scholarship.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.