Archive for Wednesday, March 28, 2012

KCKCC jazz vocalists earn honors in February festivals

March 28, 2012

Outstanding soloist awards and scholarships have highlighted a big vocal jazz start to the Spring Semester at Kansas City Kansas Community College.

During a two-week period between Feb. 11 and Feb. 15, “The Standard” vocal jazz ensembles performed at jazz festivals in three states and the Kansas Music Educators Association in-service workshop in Wichita.

Directed by John Stafford, “The Standard” is made up of two groups – the A Cappella Jazz Ensemble and the Jazz/Pop Ensemble with combo.

Sopranos Sparkle Jones and Megan Young, alto Shelby Stephenson and tenor Deandre Clark received Outstanding Soloists awards at the Missouri Western State University Jazz Festival in St. Joseph, Mo. Feb 11.

A week later at the Friends University Jazz Festival in Wichita, Sparkle Jones won an Outstanding Soloist Award and the ensembles performed Jennifer Barnes’ arrangement of “There is No Greater Love” at a clinic directed by Barnes.

Following the performance at the Kansas Music Educators in Wichita, “The Standard” performed at “Fox Fest 2012” at Southwestern Community College in Creston, Iowa, where alto Lisa Bloom, tenor Deandre Clark and baritone Jamie Anderson received scholarships to attend Southwestern’s Vocal Jazz Camp in late July. In addition, the ensembles were able to take in a concert by the Four Freshmen and Grammy Award-winning artist Nancy King.

The A Cappella Jazz Ensemble is made up of soprano Emily Mosier, altos Lisa Bloom and Shelby Stephenson, tenor Deandre Clark, baritone Jamie Anderson, sound tech Dedric Moore and Stafford, who both sings bass and directs.

Vocalists in the Jazz/Pop Ensemble include Heather White, Sparkle Jones and Megan Young, sopranos; Jessica Walker and Stormy Rhone, soprano and alto; Lisa Bloom, alto; Derek Wallace, tenor; and Rashad Singleton, tenor/baritone. The combo includes Lisa Bloom, piano; Jamie Anderson, guitar; Trey Green, bass; Rex Hancock, drums; Kenny Watson, percussion; Ryan Elliott, Tech; Prof. Jim Mair, saxophone; and Stafford, director.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.