Archive for Tuesday, May 8, 2012

BSHS journalists are state champs

May 8, 2012

Bonner Springs High School journalism students are 2012 state champions.

The students learned Saturday evening that they won the Kansas Scholastic Press Association’s 2012 4A sweepstakes. Students competed in 20 categories, including 11 contests in which they entered pieces in graphic design, photography and videos, and nine on-site writing and editing categories.

Entries were awarded first, second and third places, as well as three honorable mentions, in each category in three groups: Classes 1A/2A, 3A/4A and 5A/6A. The classes were separated and each class’s points totaled only as a means of determining sweepstakes winners in each class.

Bonner was the clear winner in Class 4A with 43 points to second place Chanute’s 22.

Jill Holder, BSHS journalism teacher, said the students were the first to see that they had earned first place.

“They were very, very excited and proud, as am I,” she said.

Bonner received third place in its class last year and a few years ago, but this is the first time in Holder’s 26 years at the school that they have received first place.

Holder said she has had very dedicated students the last few years — last year, she had the Class 3A/4A High School Journalist of the Year, Riley Mortensen — so she was happy they have been recognized for their efforts.

“The last three years, my staff have really done well and have been very hard working and very passionate about the work they do,” Holder said.

Individual awards were as follows:

• Sasha Bingaman, honorable mention, academics photography

• Taylor Coleman, third place, yearbook layout

• Cinthia Ebertz, first place, cutline writing; second place, yearbook layout

• Devyn Hayes, third place, editorial cartoon

• Tessa Newberry, second place, student life photography; honorable mention, photo illustration

• Samantha Ricci-Weller, honorable mention, academics photography

• Mariah Seifert, first place, student life photography; third place, sports photography

• Sydney Shepherd, second place, feature writing

• Peter Swanson, second place, headline writing

• Aaron Lewis and Angrea Wiglesworth, second place, theme development & graphics

• Chad Uhl and Tessa Newberry, honorable mention, theme development & graphics


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.