Archive for Tuesday, October 2, 2012

BLHS students chosen as Kansas Honor Scholars

October 2, 2012

Kansas University honored nearly 100 Leavenworth County high school seniors as Kansas Honor Scholars — several of whom were from Basehor-Linwood High School — Sept. 26, in Leavenworth.

During the ceremony, which took place at the Riverfront Community Center, each student received a Webster’s New College Dictionary from Teri Harris, assistant director of membership for the KU Alumni Association. Neeli Bendapudi, dean for the business school at KU, spoke at the event.

There were 96 Leavenworth County Scholars, including 15 students from Basehor-Linwood High School:

Rachel Cook, Linwood; George Davis, Basehor; Tanner Garver, Basehor; Zach Hevel, Basehor; Jared Kenton, Basehor; Courtney Leive, Basehor; Joseph Levinson, Tonganoxie; Austin Mecum, Basehor; Cheyenne Morris, Linwood; Paul Rehm, Bonner Springs; Elizabeth Schler, Linwood; Haley Stallbaumer, Linwood; and Caleb Wilson, Basehor.

Since 1971, the Kansas Honors Program has recognized more than 117,000 scholars who rank in the top 10 percent of their high school senior classes and are selected regardless of occupational plans or higher-education goals. Each year, the KU Alumni Association and its volunteers play host to 37 programs that reach all 105 counties across the state and more than 360 high schools.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.