Archive for Wednesday, March 12, 2014

Seven Bobcats, three Braves earn All-KVL basketball nods

March 12, 2014

The Kaw Valley League released its 2013-14 all-league basketball teams this week. Seven players from Basehor-Linwood and three from Bonner Springs received recognition from coaches of league opponents.

BLHS senior Chase Younger and junior Patrick Muldoon each received first-team nods, while seniors JP Downing and Zach McNabb received honorable mentions. The Bobcats are currently 19-3 and finished second in the KVL standings. They'll open state tournament competition Thursday against El Dorado. Bonner Springs didn't have any selections on the boys team.

On the girls side, seniors Victoria Smith and Amber Garver represented the Bobcats at first-teamers, while junior Madison McDowell was an honorable mention. BLHS went 13-7 in the regular season, tied for third in the league and came within two points of a state bid. Bonner Springs got three first-team selections in juniors Caitlin Reed and Kaleigh Taylor and sophomore Julianne Jackson. The Braves finished the year with a 15-7 mark and took second in the league behind Piper.

All-KVL boys basketball team

First-team selections

Chase Younger (Basehor-Linwood)

Patrick Muldoon (Basehor-Linwood)

Joe Schneider (Lansing)

Khalil Bailey (Lansing)

Zach Jackson (Lansing)

Joe Lendway (Lansing)

Logan Koch (Mill Valley)

Luke Long (Piper)

Dominique Jennings (Piper)

Vincent Eskina (Piper)

James Grizzle (Tonganoxie)

Jack Dale (Tonganoxie)

Honorable mentions

Zach McNabb (Basehor-Linwood)

JP Downing (Basehor-Linwood)

Evan Brull (Bishop Ward)

Cole Henley (Bishop Ward)

Dontae Gibson (Lansing)

Clayton Holmberg (Mill Valley)

Tyler Owens (Piper)

Paul Berry (Turner)

All-KVL girls basketball team

First-team selections

Victoria Smith (Basehor-Linwood)

Amber Garver (Basehor-Linwood)

Julianne Jackson (Bonner Springs)

Kaleigh Taylor (Bonner Springs)

Caitlin Reed (Bonner Springs)

Mikayla Zielinski (Lansing)

Carly Eaton (Mill Valley)

Jabria Leggett (Mill Valley)

Megan Woolley (Piper)

Haley White (Piper)

Tori Webb (Piper)

Emily Soetaert (Tonganoxie)

Katelyn Waldeier (Tonganoxie)

Honorable mentions

Madison McDowell (Basehor-Linwood)

Frankie Oropeza (Bishop Ward)

Madison Bosworth (Lansing)

Emily Babcock (Lansing)

Madelyn Moya (Lansing)

Catie Kaifes (Mill Valley)

Jessica Wayne (Piper)


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.