Archive for Monday, May 11, 2015

Remember When for May 14, 2015

May 11, 2015

Events reported this week in The Chieftain 10, 25, 50 and 100 years ago.

10 Years Ago: May 12, 2005

The Bonner Springs doubles tennis team of Josh Mortensen and Matt Kerl completed an undefeated season.

The Basehor City Council approved plans to make improvements on 147th Street and to improve the intersection at Parallel.

Tara Smith, Leslie Holtzen, Josh Mortensen. Cambry Hergeshermer and Kim Stephens were Bonner Springs High School valedictorians.

The Basehor-Linwood Board of Education was forming a committee to lead efforts to pass a bond issue.

25 Years Ago: May 17, 1990

Torrential rains caused flash flooding in the area. The flooding caused K-32 between Bonner Springs and Edwardsville to be closed. There were no injuries.

Richard Drennon was appointed to fill a vacancy on the Basehor-Linwood Board of Education.

Jenny Prieto received the Bonner Springs High School Citizenship Award.

The annual Edwardsville High School reunion was planned. The last class to graduate from Edwardsville was in 1945. Information was available from Mabel Brauer or Bob Herdman.

50 Years Ago: May 17-20, 1965

Mary Jane Miesse, a student at Kansas University, was spending two months in Europe studying languages.

A total of 29 seniors were scheduled to receive diplomas from Basehor High School. Rev. David Schwalm was the speaker at baccalaureate services.

Vinita Kay Curran was one of the first entries in the “Miss Bonner Springs” pageant.

The Bonner Springs Jaycees finished fourth in overall excellence in state competition.

100 Years Ago: May 13, 1915

The Rev. M. M. Eaton and Father Jacobs were in charge of baccalaureate services for Bonner Springs High School.

The CC Philathia Girls of Bonner Springs presented a play, “Mrs. Briggs of the Poultry Yard” at De Soto and made a profit of $15.

Miss Torrey’s sixth and seventh graders had a picnic at Williamson’s Grove in Edwardsville

Edwardsville High School graduates were William Hall, Hettie Eels, Lennent Mellott and Gail Williamson.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.