Weather

County,
Winter Storm Watch issued February 28 at 3:43PM CST until March 01 at 6:00PM CST by NWS
Effective: 3:43 p.m. on Friday, Feb. 28, 2014
Expires: 3 p.m. on Sunday, March 2, 2014

...WINTRY WEATHER IS EXPECTED THIS WEEKEND...
.A STRONG COLD FRONT WILL MOVE THROUGH SOUTHWEST KANSAS BY TONIGHT.
LOW LEVEL MOISTURE WILL SPREAD NORTH ACROSS SOUTHWEST AND CENTRAL
KANSAS OVER THE COLD AIR LATER TONIGHT AND SATURDAY. THIS WILL
RESULT IN AREAS OF FREEZING DRIZZLE DEVELOPING BY SATURDAY MORNING.
SOME SLEET IS EXPECTED TO DEVELOP BY AFTERNOON. THE PRECIPITATION
IS THEN EXPECTED TO CHANGE OVER TO SNOW SATURDAY NIGHT AND
CONTINUE INTO SUNDAY MORNING BEFORE TAPERING OFF SUNDAY AFTERNOON.
...WINTER WEATHER ADVISORY IN EFFECT FROM 6 AM CST /5 AM MST/ TO
6 PM CST /5 PM MST/ SATURDAY...
...WINTER STORM WATCH IN EFFECT FROM SATURDAY EVENING THROUGH
SUNDAY AFTERNOON...
THE NATIONAL WEATHER SERVICE IN DODGE CITY HAS ISSUED A WINTER
WEATHER ADVISORY FOR FREEZING DRIZZLE AND SLEET...WHICH IS IN
EFFECT FROM 6 AM CST /5 AM MST/ TO 6 PM CST /5 PM MST/ SATURDAY. A
WINTER STORM WATCH HAS ALSO BEEN ISSUED. THIS WINTER STORM WATCH
IS IN EFFECT FROM SATURDAY EVENING THROUGH SUNDAY AFTERNOON.
* TIMING...SATURDAY THROUGH SUNDAY.
* SNOW/ICE ACCUMULATIONS...ICE ACCUMULATION WILL BE LESS THAN A
TENTH OF AN INCH. SLEET AND SNOW ACCUMULATIONS COULD RANGE FROM
3 TO 6 INCHES NORTH OF HIGHWAY 50 WITH 2 TO 4 INCHES SOUTH OF
HIGHWAY 50.
* OTHER IMPACTS...SLIPPERY CONDITIONS DUE TO FREEZING DRIZZLE AND
SLEET. REDUCED VISIBILITIES IN AREAS OF BLOWING AND DRIFTING
SNOW. WIND CHILLS COULD DROP TO AROUND 15 BELOW ZERO SATURDAY
NIGHT AND SUNDAY.

See more at NOAA