Weather

County,
Red Flag Warning issued September 20 at 12:26PM CDT until September 21 at 8:00PM CDT by NWS
Effective: 1 p.m. on Thursday, Sept. 21, 2017
Expires: 8 p.m. on Thursday, Sept. 21, 2017

...CRITICAL FIRE WEATHER CONDITIONS EXPECTED THURSDAY...
.Unseasonably hot temperatures will combine with a dry air mass
resulting in low relative humidity values across eastern
Colorado, northwest Kansas, and southwest Nebraska Thursday
afternoon and early Thursday evening. Gusty south winds will
develop by midday Thursday and continue into Thursday evening,
with gusts up to 35 mph possible.
...RED FLAG WARNING IN EFFECT FROM NOON MDT /1 PM CDT/ TO 7 PM
MDT /8 PM CDT/ THURSDAY FOR WIND AND LOW RELATIVE HUMIDITY FOR
FIRE WEATHER ZONES 001...002...013...014...027...028...041...
042...079...080...252...253 AND 254...
The National Weather Service in Goodland has issued a Red Flag
Warning for wind and low relative humidity...which is in effect
from noon MDT /1 PM CDT/ to 7 PM MDT /8 PM CDT/ Thursday. The
Fire Weather Watch is no longer in effect.
* Affected Area...In Colorado...Fire Weather Zone 252 Yuma...
Fire Weather Zone 253 Kit Carson and Fire Weather Zone 254
Cheyenne. In Kansas...Fire Weather Zone 001 Cheyenne...Fire
Weather Zone 002 Rawlins...Fire Weather Zone 013 Sherman...
Fire Weather Zone 014 Thomas...Fire Weather Zone 027 Wallace...
Fire Weather Zone 028 Logan...Fire Weather Zone 041 Greeley
and Fire Weather Zone 042 Wichita. In Nebraska...Fire Weather
Zone 079 Dundy and Fire Weather Zone 080 Hitchcock.
* Winds...South 15 to 25 mph with gusts up to 35 mph.
* Relative Humidity...As low as 11 percent.
* Impacts...Any fires that start will have extreme fire behavior
and spread rapidly. Outdoor burning is not advised.

See more at NOAA